Family Driven Faith

There’s something I value so highly. Of all the time spent raising children and homeschooling, I see what has made a tremendous impact: the time we have spent watching, listening, reading, and discussing helpful teaching that helps us navigate through life and become better people.

There are many ways children can learn about faith and getting prepared for life. We have so much excellent teaching, from anywhere around the world now, and it’s available right at our fingertips. So cool! Are you taking advantage of it?

I have realized as I have gotten older that alot of people depend on the 1-2 hours spent at church each week to teach their kids the basics about faith and other important life issues. Don’t get me wrong, I think it’s good. But, I see how being intentional about spending time together as a family, discussing important life issues, has brought such rewards. I see that the benefits far outweigh just letting the lesson at church do all the teaching.

My highest goal of homeschooling high school was not having a straight A student, a high SAT score, or the best athlete on the team. It was for my son to spend time reading in the morning to strengthen his faith. One day, God whispered to me, “If you get nothing else accomplished for school except devotional time in the morning, it was a successful day.” So. Very. Glad. I. Listened. (This is far from what the world says. There are many voices out there. And they are more than happy to guide you.)

It took lots of reminding and redirecting to get in the habit of devotion time in the beginning. But, as we got in the routine, no more reminders were needed.

We also gather as a family weekly to watch helpful teachings for relationships, marriage, finances, etc. There’s so much great stuff out there. I’d love to share some recommendations, if you’re looking for something in particular. I may do that in a post very soon.

All you have to do is be intentional, set a time, choose a resource, and stay committed to it. We’ve done this for years, and I can’t tell you how much we have benefited from it.

I feel like we will reap the rewards of taking the time for those important conversations for a lifetime. It has built such strong bonds of relational trust and allowed us to continue to have an influencial voice throughout the teenage years. We’re not perfect, but we’re always working on getting better.

Leave a Reply

